Proposed 2014 Pacifica Bylaws Amendment

Restriction of LSB Treasurer position

Proposer: Janet Kobren, KPFA-LSB, PNB

The proposed amendment seeks to preclude any appearance of a conflict of interest the position of LSB Treasurer shall not be a member of the station's paid staff since the role of LSB Treasurer involves the preparation of the budget of his/her station and also, as a member of the National Finance Committee makes recommendations on the annual Pacifica budget (see Article Eight, Other Committees of the Board of Directors, Section 3: Standing Committees).

(I) Current Language and Location

Article Seven, Local Station Boards, Section 5: Election of Officers

Each Local Station Board shall elect a Chair, a Vice-Chair, a Recording Secretary, and a Treasurer, who shall be elected annually at the December meeting of the LSB for a term of one year using the Instant Runoff Voting method. Each of these officers shall serve at the pleasure of the LSB and shall have those powers and shall perform those duties as may be prescribed by its LSB. With the exception of the Chair and the Vice Chair, an officer of an LSB is not required to be a Delegate. Local Station Board officers may not serve concurrently as Foundation Directors, and must resign their position as an LSB officer if elected to the Board of Directors.

(II) Changes To Current Language

NOTE: Words to be added are in **bold** and in **CAPS**.

Each Local Station Board shall elect a Chair, a Vice-Chair, a Recording Secretary, and a Treasurer, who shall be elected annually at the December meeting of the LSB for a term of one year using the Instant Runoff Voting method. Each of these officers shall serve at the pleasure of the LSB and shall have those powers and shall perform those duties as may be prescribed by its LSB. With the exception of the Chair and the Vice Chair, an officer of an LSB is not required to be a Delegate, **AND THE POSITION OF TREASURER SHALL NOT BE A MEMBER OF THE STATION'S PAID STAFF**. Local Station Board

officers may not serve concurrently as Foundation Directors, and must resign their position as an LSB officer if elected to the Board of Directors.

Carolyn Birden Janet Coleman Kim Kaufman Janet Kobren George Reiter Manijeh Saba