Proposed Bylaws Amendment - Local Station Boards and Delegates - size and handling of vacancies

Justification: This bylaws amendment allows Local Station Boards to be composed of a variable number of members to facilitate smaller boards via natural attrition and to ensure local station board members earn election to local station boards by gaining sufficient support from the station's members in an election, and thus are representatives who the membership want. This amendment also removes some redundant language regarding how many Delegates/LSB members are to be elected.

Amendment – Part A:

Original Text:

Article Four, Delegates, Section 10: Filling of Vacancies

If a Delegate position becomes vacant mid-term, that Delegate shall be replaced for the remainder of his/her term by the highest ranked candidate from the last election of Delegates for that Class of Members for that station who was not elected and who is available and continues to meet the Delegate eligibility requirements as set forth in Section 2(A) or 2(B) of this Article of these Bylaws. In the event that no eligible and available candidate from the last election is found, then the Delegates for that radio station shall appoint a Member of the appropriate class to serve as Delegate and fill the seat for the remainder of the term.

Revised Text:

Article Four, Delegates, Section 10: Filling of Vacancies

If a Delegate position becomes vacant mid-term, that Delegate position shall remain vacant until the next membership election unless the vacancy causes the total number of Delegates for that station to fall below a minimum of 3/4 of the number of Delegates elected in accordance with Article Four, Section 3. If the vacancy causes the Delegates to fall below that minimum number, then the Delegates for that radio station shall appoint a Member of the appropriate class to serve as Delegate and to fill the seat for the remainder of the term.

Amendment – Part B:

Original Text:

Article Seven, Local Station Boards, Section 2: Composition of Local Station Boards

Each LSB shall consist of the 24 Delegates elected by the Members for that radio station - 18 Listener-Sponsor Delegates and 6 Staff Delegates. (Four of the Delegates for each radio station shall also concurrently serve as Directors of the Foundation, as set provided in Section 3 of Article 5 of the Bylaws.)

In addition, an "associate station," if any, as that term is defined in Section 8 of this Article, may appoint one representative to the LSB of the radio station with which it is associated. Associate station representatives shall be voting members of the LSB; provided, however, that no associate station representative shall have the right to vote for the election or removal of any Foundation Director or Delegate nor may s/he be eligible for election by the Delegates to the office of Director. No LSB shall have more than a total of three (3) associate station representatives (and no more than one (1) from any one associate station) at any given time. The term of office of an associate station representative shall be three years, with a maximum of two consecutive three-year terms of service on an LSB.

The station's General Manager shall serve as a non-voting member of the station's LSB.

Revised Text:

Article Seven, Local Station Boards, Section 2: Composition of Local Station Boards

Each LSB shall consist of the Delegates elected by the Members for that radio station. (Some of the Delegates for each radio station shall also concurrently serve as Directors of the Foundation, as set provided in Section 3 of Article 5 of the Bylaws.)

In addition, an "associate station," if any, as that term is defined in Section 8 of this Article, may appoint one representative to the LSB of the radio station with which it is associated. Associate station representatives shall be voting members of the LSB; provided, however, that no associate station representative shall have the right to vote for the election or removal of any Foundation Director or Delegate nor may s/he be eligible for election by the Delegates to the office of Director. No LSB shall have more than a total of three (3) associate station representatives (and no more than one (1) from any one associate station) at any given time. The term of office of an associate station representative shall be three years, with a maximum of two consecutive three-year terms of service on an LSB.

The station's General Manager shall serve as a non-voting member of the station's LSB.

Grace Aaron Jan Goodman Akio Tanaka Mansoor Sabagh Ken Laufer Alex Steinberg Bill Crosier Robert Mark T. M. Scruggs